Home » CISO FAQ: Answers To Questions About CCISO

CISO FAQ: Answers To Questions About CCISO


Are you a Certified Chief Information Security Officer? Or planning to be one? Well, read the following CISO FAQ. This may help you gain more ideas. Especially about the exam that validates your skills and knowledge as a CISO.

Common CISO FAQ And Answers

What Is The CCISO Program All About?

CCISO means Certified Chief Information Security Officer program. It’s a certification that produces top-level information security executives.

It also equips infosec leaders with the most effective toolset. As a result, they can defend companies from cyberattacks.

So if you want to become a CCISO, then you need to pass this exam.

To Whom Does The CCISO Progam Is For?

Well, this exam is for the following:

  • Senior IT professionals
  • Managers
  • Directors
  • Program managers, as well as
  • Professionals working in the C-level positions.

What Are The Criteria?

  • 16% – Governance and Risk Management
  • 18% – Information Security Controls, compliance, and Audit Management
  • 22% – Security Program Management and Operations
  • 25% – Information Security Core Competencies, and lastly
  • 19% – Strategic Planning and Finance at 19%

How Long Will The Exam Be? And How Many Questions Are There?

Well, the exam contains 150 questions only. But, you need to complete it in 150 minutes.

What Type Of Questions Are There?

All questions are in the Multiple Choice Format.

How Much Is The Cost Of Taking The Exam?

Well, you have to pay $999 for the examination fee.

What Is The Passing Score?

If you want to pass the CCISO exam, then you need to score at least 72%.

What Is The Eligibility Of The Exam?

For you to be eligible, however, you need to have a minimum of 5 years of experience in each of the 5 criteria. But, you may think, “does it mean I should have a total of 25 years of experience?”

Well, the answer is no. that’s because each of the 5 CCISO criteria is part of each day. Additionally, that 5 years can and do overlap.

How Long Is My CCISO Certification Valid?

It will be valid for 3 years from the date of certification.

Exam Recertification Policy – What does It Mean?

You must renew your certification in 3 years. How will you do that? By participating in the EC-Council Continuing Education (ECE) Program.

Thus, upon completion of 3 years in the program, your certification’s validity will be extended. Moreover, you need to pay a renewal fee of $100.

What About The Exam Retake Policy?

If you’re unable to clear the exam within your first attempt, then, don’t worry! Why? That’s because EC-Council allows 5 retakes in a year.

Let’s Say I Don’t Have 5 Years Of Experience In 3 Of The 5 Criteria. Does That Mean I Can’t Take CCISO Training?

Well, the answer is no. not meeting the requirement doesn’t mean you can’t take the training. Of course, anyone can take the exam. But, you will not be issued the exam voucher. That’s because the exam voucher will be for those who qualify.

What Does EISM Program Mean?

It stands for EC-Council Information Security Manager Program. This program allows those who are not yet qualified to sit for the exam. But, that is to train them and attain EC-Council certification.